Day 1. Introductions, Manners, and First Impressions.

4148

Hello. My name is Shannon. or Shay Rae, affectionately.

4177

and I’ve recently became a single white female.

LOL

(not like that crazy movie type of way).

3787

Yep, I became one of Beyonce’s backup dancers. Ha. “Single Ladies” joke. But very real.

This is Day 1 into the universe of social experiments and dating nowadays. Finding “that person”. Ya know, that NEED that is engraved in ALL of us. Many of you may know me, some of you may not but I openly welcome everyone to have a front row seat to what it is truly like to date in our recent times.

Whether you are in a relationship (happy or not), newly single, single for a while, or just looking to laugh at the ridiculous and maybe sometimes charming ways our dating society functions, enjoy the read. 😉

Chapter 1 of my life: Introductions And Welcome to Online Dating

So in the modern world of dating, it’s nothing new for us to “meet” people online. I’ve met people online.  Decades ago, it was undiscovered territory, this advanced technology. But I think many people in today’s times have truly lost their sense of manners along the way. and have lost their ability to show intelligence.

I was old enough to see the internet be born. *laughs*

Im 30 years old.

Introductions in meeting someone online in dating should be approached the same way you would meeting someone in person. Nothing short of the way you would have behaved before we as people got lazy and horned up by the ease of a person at our fingertips.

Online Dating 

So the first day, the plan was simple. Download a dating app. So many to choose from but the different apps offered different types of people. some of the apps where exactly NOT what I was looking for.

  • people looking for singles to cheat with
  • booty calls and stranger hookups
  • men seeking men
  • people looking for instant marriage
  • people looking for prostitutes (trust me, I stumbled upon a few apps. there are apps for everything. lol)
  • mail order brides
  • farmers only

 I just want to meet new people. nothing sleezy. go out on dates. be treated fairly. become friends. see if we click romantically and have similar goals, attraction, and if we do, go from there. keep it respectful, real, and have fun! Enjoying being around each other. 

So I chose Plenty of Fish. Reviews were pretty decent. And there were a lot of reviews so maybe that meant a lot of people were using it.

I downloaded the app. Set up my profile. Step one complete.

Step 2: Leave it alone for 24 hrs.

Though it was tempting to peek into who was “checking me out”, I resisted. My phone buzzed all day and night. Needless to say, I didnt get a lot of sleep that night.

The next day, much of the same. But finaly 24 hrs and passed and it was time to finally look. I logged on. It was like charlie getting the golden ticket and visiting the chocolate factory. and the message notifications alerted me that I had new messages.

Almost 3000 to be exact.

Where do I even start?

I already felt overwhelmed. I hadnt even opened a message yet.

The first impressions of some of these messages were hilarious.

Some were just simple hellos.

Some were shy. Had looked at my profile, clicked to meet me but had left no message.

One message I opened even said “write me”. That is all. I laughed out loud.

Some were cheesy. Pick up lines.

And then there was this guy…

4172

If I truly have to go into detail about the facts on what is wrong with this, I will. granted, in the right scenario, the idea sounds great. if you know someone on that kind of level, well, to each their own….but….

The problem is this:

THIS WAS HIS FIRST INTRODUCTION!!!

This is the same, if not worse, than the dick pic bandits. The “flashers” of our generation. no hello. No name exchange.  no formalities.

I cant add this to my list of qualities I dont want in a partner because its already there. Stds.

One comment

Leave a comment